The Drawers

Pacific Northwest Photography Viewing Drawers, photo Tricia Hoffman

Pacific Northwest Photography Viewing Drawers

Blue Sky established the Pacific Northwest Photography Viewing Drawers program in 2007 to feature a juried, public archive of original prints by contemporary photographers based in the region. The Drawers program has quickly become a favorite aspect of Blue Sky’s ongoing programming, featuring original prints by more than 60 artists based in Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. The Drawers is a year-long exhibition, changing every April to coincide with Portland Photo Month,  and available to approximately 25,000 visitors annually.


View current and previous year’s artists:

2017 • 2016  2015  2014 • 2013

During regular hours, you are welcome to have a look by simply opening any one of the Drawers. Should you want to see more work by a particular artist, please ask at the Front Desk for assistance. Artists provide prices for all prints that are for sale.

Blue Sky’s Pacific Northwest Photography Viewing Drawers program is generously supported by:

Juried Selection 2012

In April 2012, Blue Sky debuted 68 new bodies of work in the Drawers curated by jurors Laura Moya and Clint Willour from submissions received in response to a public Call for Entries announced in early Summer 2011. Artists included:

Bobby Abrahamson • Jody Ake • Susan Bein • Larry Blackwood • Steven Brooks • Charles Capp • Brad Carlile • Elizabeth Claffey • Darren Clark • Clayton Cotterell • Mark Crummett • Dennis DeHart • Deborah Ford • Lewis Forquer • Hal Gage • Robert Gervais • Lisa Gidley • Barbara Gilson • Kristin Giordano • Wendy Given • Joseph Glasgow • Carole Glauber • Lauren Greathouse • Toni Greaves • M. Bruce Hall • Edward Hamilton • Kate Harnedy • Keith Harrington • James Hart • Stewart Harvey • Ken Hochfeld • Carol Isaak • Yuko Ishii • Laura Valenti Jelen • Joni Kabana • Joseph Kashi • George Kelly • Ann Kendellen • Thendara Kida-Gee • Heidi Kirkpatrick • Christine Laptuta • Jim Leisy • Stu Levy • Fritz Liedtke • Jim Lommasson • Nathan Lucas • Sandee McGee • TJ Norris • Liz Obert • Melody Owen • Alexis Pike • Birthe Piontek • Ann Ploeger • David Potter • Missy Prince • Stan Raucher • Christopher Rauschenberg • Shawn Records • Rich Rollins • Katherine Rondina • William Rugen • Jeff Shay • John Snyder • Rafael Soldi • Andrew Stanbridge • Terri Warpinski • William Washburn • Kristin Wilkins • selected photographers from the Portland Grid Project

Prints by these artists remained in the Drawers through March 2013.


Laura Moya is executive director of Photolucida, a nonprofit organization based in Portland, Oregon that provides opportunities for emerging photographers. Moya has a professional background in photography and independent film, both in production and promotion, having worked for photo-eye Gallery, the Sundance Film Festival, and the Northwest Film Center. She was invited to particpate in the Lodz Photography Festival (Poland), Noorderlicht (Netherlands), the Pingyao Photo Festival (China), the Lishui Photo Festival (China), and Xiang Sha Wan Photo Festival (Mongolia). Moya recently curated Photo Alchemy: An Exhibition of Alternative Process Photography at 23 Sandy Gallery (Portland) and has written pieces for Griffin Museum’s ‘Critic’s Pick’ and Finite Foto. She also reviews portfolios in the US and internationally, most recently at LensCulture/FotoFest during Paris Photo.

Clint Willour has been the curator of the Galveston Arts Center for the past twenty-one years, and an art professional for over thirty-five years. He is active on boards of numerous arts organizations in Texas and has served as a juror for over seventy competitions in his career. He curates 12 exhibitions per year in Galveston, and serves regularly as a guest curator for institutions throughout the state of Texas and beyond. He is a past President of the Board of the Houston Center for Photography and a current member of their advisory board and Exhibition Committee, member and past Chair of the Photography Accessions Sub-committee of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, a member of the Art Board of FotoFest, Houston, and a board member of Photo Forum at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.

Juried Selection 2010

From November 2010 through March 2012, Blue Sky presented 35 bodies of work in the Drawers curated by Virginia Dodier, Graydon Miller, and Christina Spielvogel from submissions received in response to a public Call for Entries announced in early Summer 2010. Artists included:

Bobby Abrahamson • Troi Anderson • Blake Andrews • John Bauguess • Chris Bennett • Rich Bergeman • Paul Dahlquist • David Farris • Gene Faulkner • Hal Gage • Lisa Gidley • Ford Gilbreath • Barbara Gilson • Joseph Glasgow • Robert Haft • M. Bruce Hall • Ed Hamilton • Lauren Henkin • Edis Jurcys • Ann Kendellen • Heidi Kirkpatrick• Christine Laptuta • Stuart Allen Levy • Jim Lommasson • Frank Miller • Ann Pallesen • Doug Prior • Christopher Rauschenberg • Shawn Records • Jim Riswold • Rich Rollins • Faulkner Short • Grace Weston • Bryan Wolf • The Portland Grid Project